South Carolina Academy of Science

Promoting Science since 1924


Call for Nominations for the Governor’s Award
for Excellence in Science 2014

The award was established in 1985 by the Drug Science Foundation to honor specifically an individual or team within the state whose achievements and contributions to science in South Carolina merit special recognition and to promote wider awareness of the quality and extent of scientific activity in South Carolina.
In 1989, the award was named the “Governor’s Award for Excellence in Science” and is presented under the joint sponsorship of the Governor’s Office and the South Carolina Academy of Science.
In 1993 these groups were joined by the Dewees Development Corporation and Harbor Watch of Charleston.
Since that time, the following corporate partners have joined in sponsorship of the award: Roche Carolina Inc. (2000), MeadWestvaco (2004), Michelin North America (2005), and the South Carolina Research Authority (2010).

Beginning in 1990, two awards have been presented annually with one focused on scientific discovery and the other focused on scientific awareness.
In conjunction with the Governor’s Office, the Academy initiated the sponsorship of a third award in 2005 which is directed to a gifted young researcher (only those individuals who have completed no more than 12 years beyond the Ph.D.).
The award is titled the Young Scientist Award for Excellence in Scientific Research.
In 2010 the Governor’s Office and the Academy initiated a fourth award that honors scientific excellence by a faculty member at a Predominately Undergraduate Institution.
It is sponsored by the South Carolina Research Authority and is awarded to an individual whose achievements and contributions to science over at least a 10 year period at a predominately undergraduate South Carolina university or college merit special recognition.

Candidates should be currently working in South Carolina or have conducted a substantial portion of their work within the state.
Contributions may be in any area of science and may be for service to science through non-formal education in the various media, for exemplary exposition at the college or university level, or as an acknowledgement for significant outstanding formal research.
The award may be given to an individual or a team. For a team award, the honorarium will be distributed equally.
The deadline for receipt of nominations is December 2, 2013.

Additional forms may be photocopied or obtained by request.
The 2014 nomination forms and a list of past winners can be found at under Awards or at, (go to other on front page then to Governor Award).

Send your nominations including a complete address and email information to:

Chair of the Governor’s Award Committee
Dr. William A. Pirkle
Sponsored Research Office
University of South Carolina Aiken
471 University Parkway
Aiken, SC 29801

Call for Nominations
Nomination Form